Dani Hoots’ Review of manicpixiedreamgirl by Tom Leveen

manicpixiedreamgirl by Tom Leveen Amazon/Barnes&Noble/Goodreads Published by: Random House Review by: Dani Hoots Full of emotion, teenage chaos and angst, love, friendship, and heartbreak, Leveen does a great job bringing together all of these things and make you feel you as if you are in the shoes of the main character. The dialogue is great…

Dani Hoots’ Review of Urban Allies Anthology edited by Joseph Nassise

Urban Allies edited by Joseph Nassise Amazon/Barnes&Noble/Goodreads Published by: Harper Voyager Edited by: Joe Nassise Review by: Dani Hoots From the Back Cover In this impressive anthology, twenty of today’s hottest urban fantasy authors pair up to write ten new and original stories featuring beloved characters from their own bestselling series Urban Allies unites two beloved characters…

Dani Hoots’ review of The Neverland Wars by Audrey Greathouse

The Neverland Wars by Audrey Greathouse Amazon/Barnes&Noble/Goodreads Published by: Clean Teen Publishing Review by: Dani Hoots Magic can do a lot―give you flight, show you mermaids, help you taste the stars, and… solve the budget crisis? That’s what the grown-ups will do with it if they ever make it to Neverland to steal its magic and…

ThrillerFest Week:Review of “Warning Order” by Joshua Hood

  Amazon/Barnes&Nobles/IndieBound/Goodreads While counting down till Thrillerfest this coming Friday, I decided to explore some new types of thrillers… I’ve never read this genre before,the genre of military thriller, though I absolutely love thrillers as a whole. These types of books excel in the craft of writing intense scenes, filled with just as much depth…

Review of All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda

Like the spellbinding psychological suspense in The Girl on the Train and Luckiest Girl Alive, Megan Miranda’s novel is a nail-biting, breathtaking story about the disappearances of two young women—a decade apart—told in reverse. It’s been ten years since Nicolette Farrell left her rural hometown after her best friend, Corinne, disappeared from Cooley Ridge without…

Review of The Girls by Emma Cline

  An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong—this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides’s The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad.   Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start…

Dani Hoots’ Review of Chase the Dark by Annette Marie

Chase the Dark by Annette Marie Amazon/Barnes&Noble/Goodreads Review by: Dani Hoots Piper Griffiths wants one thing in life: To become a Consul, a keeper of the peace between humans and daemons. There are three obstacles in her way. The first is Lyre. Incubus. Hotter than hell and with a wicked streak to match. His greatest…

Dani Hoots’ Review of The Syndicate by Sophie Davis

The Syndicate by Sophie Davis Amazon/Barnes&Noble/Goodreads Published by: Sophie Davis Books Review by: Dani Hoots In a future where time travel has been outlawed, a black market exists for anyone with the money, connections, and nerve to request items from days past. As a Runner for one of the underground syndicates that now controls the timewaves,…

Dani Hoots’ Review of Regina Shen: Resilience by Lance Erlick

Regina Shen: Resilience by Lance Erlick Amazon/Barnes&Noble/Goodreads Published by: Finlee Augare Books Review by: Dani Hoots REGINA SHEN SERIES DESCRIPTION This series takes place 400 years in the future after abrupt climate change has melted the ice caps, flooded the coasts, and expanded deserts. Civilization collapsed and was replaced by a World Federation with its notorious…

Dani Hoots’ Review of The Kraken Sea by E. Catherine Tobler

The Kraken Sea by E. Catherine Tobler Available June 21, 2016 Goodreads Publisher: Apex Book Company Reviewer: Dani Hoots Fifteen year old Jackson is different from the other children at the foundling hospital. Scales sometimes cover his arms. Tentacles coil just below his skin. Despite this Jackson tries to fit in with the other children….