Dani Hoots’ review of The Neverland Wars by Audrey Greathouse

The Neverland Wars by Audrey Greathouse Amazon/Barnes&Noble/Goodreads Published by: Clean Teen Publishing Review by: Dani Hoots Magic can do a lot―give you flight, show you mermaids, help you taste the stars, and… solve the budget crisis? That’s what the grown-ups will do with it if they ever make it to Neverland to steal its magic and…

Tea Time at Reverie: Plum Deluxe’s Self Care Herbal Tea Blend

Our final sample from Plum Deluxe is the Self-Care Blend, an herbal tisane that caught my eye for two reasons. First, how can you go wrong with a name like that for a tea? Everyone needs a reminder to slow down and take care of themselves, and tea serves as a good reminder of this….

ThrillerFest Week:Review of “Warning Order” by Joshua Hood

  Amazon/Barnes&Nobles/IndieBound/Goodreads While counting down till Thrillerfest this coming Friday, I decided to explore some new types of thrillers… I’ve never read this genre before,the genre of military thriller, though I absolutely love thrillers as a whole. These types of books excel in the craft of writing intense scenes, filled with just as much depth…

Review of All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda

Like the spellbinding psychological suspense in The Girl on the Train and Luckiest Girl Alive, Megan Miranda’s novel is a nail-biting, breathtaking story about the disappearances of two young women—a decade apart—told in reverse. It’s been ten years since Nicolette Farrell left her rural hometown after her best friend, Corinne, disappeared from Cooley Ridge without…

Review of The Girls by Emma Cline

  An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong—this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides’s The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad.   Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start…

Tea Time at Reverie: Plum Deluxe’s Reading Nook Black Tea Blend

Our next two Tea Time samples come from Plum Deluxe. Since 2008, this Oregon-based tea vendor has been exploring all aspects of the phrase “Making Moments Matter.” From handcrafted organic tea blends and a Tea of the Month Club, to recipes and meditations and other gifts, Plum Deluxe is committed to reminding its customers to…

Dani Hoots’ Review of Chase the Dark by Annette Marie

Chase the Dark by Annette Marie Amazon/Barnes&Noble/Goodreads Review by: Dani Hoots Piper Griffiths wants one thing in life: To become a Consul, a keeper of the peace between humans and daemons. There are three obstacles in her way. The first is Lyre. Incubus. Hotter than hell and with a wicked streak to match. His greatest…

Dani Hoots’ Review of The Syndicate by Sophie Davis

The Syndicate by Sophie Davis Amazon/Barnes&Noble/Goodreads Published by: Sophie Davis Books Review by: Dani Hoots In a future where time travel has been outlawed, a black market exists for anyone with the money, connections, and nerve to request items from days past. As a Runner for one of the underground syndicates that now controls the timewaves,…

Dani Hoots’ Review of Regina Shen: Resilience by Lance Erlick

Regina Shen: Resilience by Lance Erlick Amazon/Barnes&Noble/Goodreads Published by: Finlee Augare Books Review by: Dani Hoots REGINA SHEN SERIES DESCRIPTION This series takes place 400 years in the future after abrupt climate change has melted the ice caps, flooded the coasts, and expanded deserts. Civilization collapsed and was replaced by a World Federation with its notorious…

Dani Hoots’ Review of The Kraken Sea by E. Catherin Tobler

The Kraken Sea by E. Catherine Tobler Available June 21, 2016 Goodreads Publisher: Apex Book Company Reviewer: Dani Hoots Fifteen year old Jackson is different from the other children at the foundling hospital. Scales sometimes cover his arms. Tentacles coil just below his skin. Despite this Jackson tries to fit in with the other children….

Tea Time at Reverie: Mr. Darcy’s Pride Oolong from Bingley’s Teas

“In vain I have struggled. It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.” Mr. Darcy in a letter to Elizabeth Bennet, Jane Austen’s “Pride and Prejudice” Ah, Fitzwilliam Darcy. He may be handsome and wealthy, but at the beginning…